Pitaka Taik was built by King Minphalaung in 1591 as a repository for the Tripitaka or Buddhist Canon. It lies about 300 m north of the Dukkanthein. It is square in shape with an entrance passage to the east like other pagodas in Mrauk U. The outer walls are decorated with ornate floral and geometric designs and made entirely of stone. It is believed that there were 33 Pitakataiks built around Mrauk U. Pitakataik is known as the ‘Little library’. The Pitakataik measures only 14 ft. from east to west; 10 ft. from north to south and is a mere 9 ft in height.