The Uzina Pagoda is named after a mysterious person named Uzina. It is believed that no one really knew who he was. Some believe that Uzina was a sage who lived during the reign of King Asoka. What is known is that he was a simple villager who found a pot of gold buried in a bamboo grove while collecting shoots on the hill where the pagoda now stands. He and his wife became rich and built the pagoda on the hill, which is said to have given up its treasures to them. The old Mon name for this pagoda is Kyaikpatan, named after the white hill on which it stands. Legend has it that it was first pagoda built in the 3rd century B.C.
Record books tell us that it was U Lugalay and his wife Daw Mi who rebuilt the pagoda in 1832. Their remains were found buried near a water tank to the north of this pagoda. Later in 1886, U Moe and his wife Daw Nyein had the pagoda rebuilt to its present height of 34m. Their stone inscription is still visible on the platform and there is also an image of the reclining Buddha. For visitors, the four life-like figures found here are very interesting: a decrepit old man leaning on a staff; a man suffering from a loathsome disease; a putrid corpse and finally a monk in yellow robes free from all worldly cares. Lord Buddha had been shielded from all suffering since childhood, so when he saw these four figures he was so shocked that he decided to leave the princely life for one of a religious recluse.